Mills in Altoaragón

Huesca - Molino Bajo

The Molino Bajo of Huesca is probably best approached from Tierz. From this village drive to the South (HV-8401) for about 400 m after the last house (corner with Camino de Huesca). There you will find a warning sign for pedestrians on the road with a sign for the Camino de Santiago below. On the other side of the road there is a low building with a swimming pool next to it. Walk the dirt road to the West for about 1.5 km in order to reach the former mill. You will first cross the river Flumen and almost at the mill the irrigation channel (4, 5) which comes from the Molino de Luna.

Pictures: 9.x.2021

(1) The former mill (seen from the North)

(2) Upper level (facing South) of the former mill.

The building is in good condition, but we could find nothing to indicate that it was once a mill. However, the old map and the aerial photographs confirm that we are at the correct location. However, the aerial photographs seem to suggest that we are no longer looking at the original building.
The Casañal map (1891) shows a rather large – similar to the M. de Luna – con­struction situated at the North side of the road. Today's building is on the other side of the road, much smaller and is not built over the Acequia de la Ribera, which was clearly the case in 1891.

Plano de Huesca by D. Casañal – 1891
Fábrica de [Papel] at the top
is nowadays known as Molino de Luna
Vuelo del Americano © IGN.es – viii.1946
Molino de Luna (top) & Molino Bajo

In the aerial views made by the americans in 1946 a grey spot, roughly having the same shape as in the map, is present. There are no clear boundaries; we must be looking at a ruin . At the other side of the road a much smaller construction has appeared.
While the gray patch slowly disolves, this new construction – the Molino Bajo of today – remains visible in later photos. I don't know whether, and until when, a mill operated here after the old structure disappeared.

Vuelo del Americano © IGN.es – 1956
(3) Nameplate on facade (facing South).

(4) The Acequia (irrigation channel) de la Ribera crosses the Camino del Molino Bajo.

(5) The Acequia de la Ribera.

 José Antonio Cuchí Oterino — 2005-2006— Anotaciones sobre la distribución de agua
en los sistemas de riego tradicionales de la zona occidental de la Hoya de Huesca
in Anales de la Fundación Joaquín Costa №22-23; p5-46.
A note on p38 says the Molino Bajo was destroyed during the civil war.

Path: Home / Alto Aragón: old mills / Huesca - Molino Bajo
Introduction
Learn about the parts of a mill
Visit the mills; catalogue
Literature and other websites
© and e-mail: